Sometimes, things happen for a reason

I know, I know, you’ve heard that one WAY too many times. Plus, isn’t it annoying when someone says those words while you are in the crux of a particular situation? Don’t you feel like telling them, thanks, but no thanks? But then, when all hell has finally passed, when we realize that Eh! it had in fact happen for a reason, don’t things start to make sense again?

Over the years I’ve become confident and trusting in what Life brings me. I do not mean to say that I never get angry or frustrated, but I do look at things and events differently. Ok, you’re right, maybe not always immediately, but once I’ve taken a step back and a few deep breaths, I often realize that everything is fine. In fact, everything is the way that it should be.

Sure, I’ve been accused of being a defeatist, but I think of myself as an open-arm, bring-it-on type of person. I mean, it is not because I do not wish something to happen that it won’t. However, it is not because something might happen that it will. And that being said, there is no need to worry about things that do not yet exist. Easy to say, yes, but if you think about it, this is how it IS, and no, kicking and screaming will not get you where you want to go.

So take a step back and take that deep breath, maybe two or tree even. Understand that there is more to life than this. Trust that whatever you are going through right now will make you stronger and will have been worth while in the end. I know that this is not something you want to hear, but sometimes, things just happen for a reason.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ganesha3
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 23:39:21

    Namaste Sista…
    Reminded me of these quotes…thought I’d share!

    [ Whenever anything negative happens to you, there is a deep lesson concealed within it, although you may not see it at the time. ]

    [ The pain that you create now is always some form of nonacceptance, some form of unconscious resistance to what is. On the level of thought, the resistance is some form of judgment. On the emotional level, it is some form of negativity. The intensity of the pain depends on the degree of resistance to the present moment, and this in turn depends on how strongly you are identified with your mind. ]

    [ Eckhart Tolle ]

    Reply

    • Vero Barnes
      Apr 12, 2012 @ 07:59:06

      Thank you Jojo, here’s another one you might also enjoy:
      “Facing the facts is always empowering. Be aware that what you think, to a large extent, creates the emotions that you feel. See the link between your thoughts and emotions. Rather than being your thoughts and emotions, be the awareness behind them.” ~ Eckhart Tolle

      Reply

  2. chattingwithspirit
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 06:07:03

    If only we had the benefit of hindsight before something happened!

    I truly believe that everything happens for a reason, and you are so right, that at the time, quite often, you can’t possibly see what that reason may be, but eventually (though not always) it does seem to make sense, Maybe in the fullness of time absolutely everything will make sense, but maybe we have to be ‘home’ to realise that!

    Reply

    • Vero Barnes
      Apr 12, 2012 @ 08:03:40

      YES! Being “home” or knowing where you stand in order to move forward, as I often say/write. I really like what you write, that “in the fullness of time, absolutely everything will make sense”. In this particular case, the one that I was thinking about while writing this post, this stems from something that happened 2 years ago! Have a great day ;)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

