Aum Meditation

Before dawn on a rainy morning, I enter a room adorned with large open windows, overlooking the forest. As I join the others, sitting in a circle in Sukhasana, I listen to the rain in the trees feeling the subtle positive energy in the room. The air is fresh and an aroma of essential oils calms my thoughts; we begin our first group meditation.

After many minutes, whilst I perceive a growing discomfort in my hips and back, I am able to shift my focus back in, allowing myself to simply be. As our Teacher initiates the chanting of the Aum, the first sounds are merely audible. As we repeat this chant, matching our breaths, the vibratory effects are soon overwhelming. As the others continue to sign, I pause to listen and absorb the energy now filling the room.

The chant grows louder, with the many voices creating an incessant wave of sound. With freedom and creativity, some are uttering the Aum fully, while others choose to enunciate only certain parts of the sound: the harmonics are simply breathtaking. I feel a shiver running from the bottom of my spine to the top of my head and down my arms.

Soon, the rain and the wind in the trees return to the forefront of this melody, birds chirping as the last vibration of sound dissipates in the light of the day. As I slowly bring my awareness back to the room, my mind is now opened to receiving the teachings. It was beautiful.

“We only exist in this moment” ~ Guy Tardif.

Namaste.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Zinn Da
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 16:25:58

    The AUM is a Social Meditation that combines movement, role playing and vocal expression.

    AUM stands for awareness, understanding and meditation. It is one of the basic and most powerful techniques used at the Humaniversity.

    By participating in the AUM you can experience a deep sense of aliveness, warmth, relaxation and acquire a taste for life again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

